Gallery

Ramblings of a new traveller~

Throughout my life I have travelled or tagged along with my parents since for a large chunk of my and their lives combined together we planned for regular vacations.  This obviously means that I’ve really been fortunate enough to visit a lot of places throughout India. But this ranting is not about the places I’ve visited but the feelings that have stirred in me while I roamed these places alone versus when I travelled to destinations with my img_5185parents.

Of course because I am married right now people expect a lot of things such as I am supposed to magically transform into a responsible adult. However to tell the truth when you are born in an Indian family with a doting mother you do tend to be cocooned in the luxuries of life before marriage and then get the sudden hit of reality and the world post marriage.

Well I’ve been mostly fortunate enough even after marriage to not face to many harsh realities because we stay away in another city far away from our native place. Now its strange about the places where you have actually been born and brought up. Its home, where you are supposed to feel really at peace however  it’s also a place where your portion of societal pressure exists, where you have to behave exactly according to a certain decorum.

Which however if you stay away from such places in a different city, mind you, nobody bothers and you are less judged! Shocking as might as it hear the home going both a pleasure and a dreaded trip where although you tend to feel welcome and happy along with the people you love, you simultaneously also dread the worst fears of facing the people whom you would rather avoid for the rest of your life to be precise!!

This is what happens when I tend to write my worst fears get penned down too easily! But then again there is a saying “familiarity breeds contempt”.  But then again I’m speaking about the feelings that I’ve experienced while travelling with my parents and comparing them to the exhilaration that I’ve felt while travelling alone with my hubby. It’s not about hubby too! From my childhood I have been a person who loves to live alone. You would have always seen me on the bed or the couch with a book because for me reality of intermingling was highly overrated. Well that remains the same within me. While I do enjoy in group, it’s mostly that I do love my own company and love to experience the nature alone.

When I used to travel with my parents, I loved the fact that my family allowed all of us kids to live in a single suit or a hotel room which gave us the freedom and in turn them too the freedom to enjoy the trip! We all loved the fact that we were allowed to choose our room and then go and do anything that we wanted throughout the trip. There were obviously no parties but we siblings always had a gala time! When I started travelling alone it was a completely different feeling. There was a sense of fear initially that whether or not we will be cheated while we travelled but fingers crossed every time it turned out well.

When I used to travel with my parents we used to book pre hired cars to travel which actually left no room for exploration because they had their pre thought out itinerary which they used to follow. But when I went out alone we decided to travel in the public transportation of those places which really helped us to know the places inside out! The feeling of exploration, the feeling of travelling through every nook and corner of the cities or the places I visited gave me both the thrills and chills.

The first time I visited mussorie with my parents I hardly knew the place. The second time I visited mussorie alone with my hubby we travelled so much that we practically knew the roads all inside out like the back of our hand. The thrill of travelling alone enjoying the mystic beauty of the hills alone was absolutely gorgeous. I finally felt that we had learnt to live alone. I learnt how to pack less and even pack!

Life itself is the best teacher they say and looking back this year I hardly recognize myself! I personally feel that I have really grown up a lot getting out of my home! Well some day or the other you do have to cross the threshold of the innocence to reach to experience.

One thought on “Ramblings of a new traveller~

Leave a Reply

